French Polynesia

Travel Guide 2023
  1. Home
French Polynesia is a French overseas territory in the South Pacific and consists of 118 islands, including Tahiti and Bora Bora. It lies south of the equator and east of Australia. Its history dates back to 1,000 BC, when the first Polynesian settlers arrived. In the 18th century, the islands were explored by European explorers such as James Cook before finally being annexed by France in 1880. Typical of French Polynesia are the friendly people, lush vegetation, turquoise lagoons and traditional Polynesian culture. Among the most famous attractions are the picturesque beaches of Bora Bora, the cultural center of Papeete in Tahiti and the spectacular diving sites around the islands.

Country data French Polynesia

French Polynesia at a glance

Area4167 km2
CurrencyCFP Franc (XPF)

Map French Polynesia

Country borders and location of the capital