Travel Guide 2023
  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Countries
Guyana is a country on the northern coast of South America, bordering Brazil, Venezuela and Suriname. The country's history is marked by colonial times, it was ruled by the Spanish, Dutch, French and British before becoming independent in 1966. Guyana is known for its unique nature, including the Amazon rainforest, the Kaieteur waterfalls and the Rupununi savannah. Attractions also include historic cities such as Georgetown and the remains of Dutch forts from the colonial era.

Country data Guyana

Guyana at a glance

Area214970 km2
ContinentSouth America
CurrencyGuyana Dollar (GYD)
Neighboring countriesSuriname, Brazil und Venezuela

Map Guyana

Country borders and location of the capital