Wallis and Futuna

Travel Guide 2023
  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Countries
Wallis and Futuna is a French overseas territory in the South Pacific, consisting of two island groups with three kingdoms. The islands were discovered by the Dutch and English and eventually placed under protectorate by France. The population voted for incorporation into the French Republic in 1959 and was granted overseas territory status in 1961. Wallis and Futuna is known for its traditional cultures and customs and has landmarks such as Wallis Cathedral, Lake Lalolalo and Futuna Rock Reserve. The archipelago is remote and little developed for tourism.

Country data Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna at a glance

Area274 km2
CurrencyCFP Franc (XPF)

Map Wallis and Futuna

Country borders and location of the capital